

Animal Sciences Center College Park, Maryland 20742-2311 TEL 301-405-1366 FAX 301-405-7980

MEMORANDUM

TO: Graduate Education Committee Drs. Keefer, Kim, Kohn, Sunny, and Xiao

FROM:

Name

(Student's Name)

SUBJECT: Approval of Advisory Committee Chair and Members

I request that the following people be appointed as members of my Advisory Committee.

Department or Other Unit

1. Chair:	ANSC
2	
3	
4	
5	
6. Dean's Rep (PhD only):	Voting: Yes No

NOTE: See ANSC Graduate Handbook and Graduate School website for complete details.

Masters Advisory Committees must consist of a minimum of three members, two of which must be Regular Graduate Faculty at College Park (tenured or tenure-track). The Chair must be from ANSC.

Doctoral Advisory Committees must consist of a minimum of **five voting members**, three of which must be Regular Graduate Faculty at College Park (including the Chair and the Dean's Rep). Two must be ANSC faculty (the Chair and at least one other). The individual who will act as Dean's Rep (must be tenured faculty from another program/dept.) must be indicated on this form. Typically for ANSC committees the Dean's Rep is a voting member, if not, then be sure to have a fifth voting member (Regular Graduate Faculty). Other committee members must have Graduate Faculty status at UMCP. Up to two scientists from outside institutions who hold Special Graduate Faculty status may be appointed to the Graduate Advisory Committee.

(Student)	Date	(Prospective Chair)		Date	
Signature and Date			Approve	Discuss	Reject
Dr. Carol Keefer					
Graduate Program Director					
Dr. Byung-Eun Kim					
Dr. Richard Kohn					
Dr. Nishanth Sunny					
Dr. Zhengguo Xiao					